top of page
Search
  • nyspringsteen

Close Encounters

5.5.21


Developing a relationship with Nature is no different from developing relationships with humans. The initial introduction runs the gamut from instant interest or even attraction to feeling repelled. Then there’s the getting acquainted phase, which again, can include a range of emotions and thoughts. If we haven’t decided to give up on the effort, at some point we get comfortable with each other and are able to experience the depths of emotion and connection that make the work of relationships worthwhile.


For most of my adult life I have worked hard on the unconscious levels to repress, as much as possible, my need to spend lots of time in a Forest because I didn’t think it was possible or valuable to do so. While I was unable to repress my love for and desire to connect with Nature, I had almost forgotten my need for a true relationship with her, didn’t even know how to contemplate building such a relationship. Spending most of my Sundays over the past 4 years in this special Forest has allowed me to do just that and it took me all this time to realize this is what I’ve been doing – developing a relationship. Recently I have experienced things that show me just how close that relationship has become. It’s one I treasure as much as my closest human relationships, sometimes more.


Squirrels are a common sight even in urban areas. While some can seem almost tame in places where people feed them, those in wild areas are not so willing to be close to humans. Recently I’ve had several experiences of Squirrels allowing me to be quite close to them. Once as I was meandering down a trail I saw 2 Ground Squirrels chasing each other on the trail several yards in front of me. The one being chased had seen me and made a quick turn off the trail and into the bushes. But the chaser didn’t have time to react in kind, didn’t see me until he was about 4 feet from me, and literally skidded to a surprised stop, just like you’ve seen cartoon characters do! In my experience, animals usually sense human energy long before there is any danger of physically running into one. But because these animals are used to me and my energy, they don’t register me as the same kind of danger as other humans.


Last week while sitting on a bench soaking up the coolness of the Spring evening, I heard a rustle and saw 5 Hares running down the small hill behind me, headed straight for me. I have never seen this many Hares all together, nor have I seen them running this way. It was Very exciting! They ran from behind me on the right, passing about 3 feet in front of me, heading around the corner on the trail and out of sight to the left. The last one in the fastest parade ever took a slightly different turn through the drying grasses than his pals and ended up passing even closer to me, almost stepping on my feet! The finely tuned senses of prey animals are always alert to danger, which tells me I was not even a blip on their radar until they were almost on top of me. Had they not turned to avoid being closer to me, they would have passed directly under the bench. I don’t know whether they were running from a predator, playing, or late for dinner with the family, but it was thrilling to see them up so close, even as fast as the whole event happened. And it was another indication of the familiarity they have with my energy, of my relationship with them.


I love Raptors! All of them, even Turkey Vultures. Hawks are my favorite and I treasure every single interaction I have with them. Twice I have experienced one flying so close to me I could hear their feathers ruffled by air currents. I’ve seen one catch a mouse, others mating, and Eyas building strength in their not yet fully fledged wings. Often when they show up I know they are answering a question or confirming I am on the right path with whatever is occupying my thoughts. Bald Eagles are a much rarer sight for me in this Forest – I have seen them 3 times in 4 years. Each time they have shown up at a particularly significant moment, providing confirmation of my thoughts, just as Hawk does. Last week’s sighting was the best yet because I saw 2 of them - an adult and a juvenile flying together over the river! Magical!


Truly, I love all animals. And I have my favorites – Deer are one of them. The soulful eyes, the gentleness, the delicate legs that don’t seem able to hold up their bodies, the magical antlers – there’s so much to love about them. As are all of this Forest’s residents, the Deer are used to humans and frequently allow us to come quite close to them. Last week I had the closest close encounter ever, as you’ll see in this video. This Doe was no more than 8 feet from me. Close enough to hear her chomping on Vetch, to see her lips questing for the juiciest morsels. And close enough to see clearly she was eating for 2, maybe 3. I treasured this particular close encounter even more because once she gives birth, she will not be letting anyone that close to her except her posse, who will help her protect the Fawns. I am so very eager to see this year’s Fawns! With a little love and fortune, I’ll enjoy a close encounter with one of them too.


I’ve been visiting my special Forest more frequently lately, which fills me with so much joy. And that’s the best reason to do pretty much anything in this human life. In fact, it’s what helps build the life we want to live. I’ll be heading out there tomorrow after work and am so eager to find out which of my Forest Friends I’ll have the privilege of visiting with. I also look forward to helping my fellow Nature lovers develop their own relationship with Nature!



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page